Thursday, October 6, 2011

31 Days Series: Interesting Facts. {Day 6}

Here is some interesting and maybe little known facts/trivia about the Island. Hey, I am a homeschooling mom, so I love information like this :)

The Island's first residents were the Mi'kmaq and called the Island Epekwitk, meaning "resting on the waves". European settlers later changed the pronunciation of the name to "Abegweit".

The provincial flower is the Pink Lady's Slipper.

The PEI tartan was adopted in 1960.
The reddish brown represents the PEI dirt, the green is the vegetation, the yellow the sun, and the white is for the white caps of the waves.

There are three counties: Prince, Queens and Kings.

PEI is in the Atlantic Time (AST) zone.

In July 2009, the province's population was estimated to be 140,985. (Source: Prince Edward Island Finance 2009)

There are two cities in the province - Charlottetown (capital city) located in Queens County and Summerside located in Prince County.

There are 7 towns - Alberton, Cornwall, Georgetown, Kensington, Montague, Souris and Stratford.

Interesting yes...?

Coming soon: an Anne of Green Gables hairstyle that I tried on myself...
felt very island-proper! :)

If you love this 31 Days to my Green Gables series, catch up on the previous posts!

Day 5: Island Love
Day 4: Raspberry Cordial
Day 3: The Anne Mouth
Day 2: On Being Properly Educated
Day 1: The Gentle Island. The Inspiration.
Intro to the 31 Days Green Gables Series

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you so much for sharing your heart!